What is
"The Order
of the
Eastern Star?"

Frequently Asked Questions

Q.What is the Order of the Eastern Star?

A. The Order of The Eastern Star is the largest Fraternal Organization in the world to which both women and men can belong.

Q. Can any woman or man belong?

A. No. Only women with specific Masonic affiliation may become members, and men who are Master Masons are eligible. A petitioner must be of good moral character, believe in a Supreme Being, have attained the age of 18, believe in the laws of the United States of America, be willing to assume the obligation of the Order, be able to participate in the Ceremony of Initiation, be free from disqualifying mental illness, be a resident of the State for the last 12 months (exceptions), and not be convicted of a felony (or adjudged an habitual criminal) under the law of any State, or of the United States.

Q. What Masonic affiliation is required for a woman to become a member?

A. She must be the wife, daughter, legally adopted daughter, mother, widow, stepmother, sister, stepsister, half-sister, granddaughter, or stepdaughter of a Master Mason as well as grandmother, great granddaughter, niece or daughter-in-law also mothers-in-law, sisters-in-law and daughters of sisters or brothers of affiliated Master Masons. (updated by General Grand Chapter Assembly (11/97).

Q. Must the Master Mason, whom a woman might be using for her affiliation, belong to the Eastern Star before she can become a member?

A. No.

Q. May a woman use, as her affiliation, a Master Mason who has died?

A. Yes. Provided the Master Mason was a member in good standing at the time of his death. A letter of verification from the man's Lodge will be required before the Degrees of the Order of The Eastern Star may be given.

Q. When was the Order of the Eastern Star formed?

A. Dr. Rob Morris, the poet laureate of Masonry, conceived the Order of the Eastern Star in 1850.

Q. What is the basis of the Order of Eastern Star?

A. Dr. Morris created the Degrees of the Eastern Star around the lives of five Biblical women. They were Adah, Ruth, Esther, Martha, and Electa. The reason was that each of these Biblical examples stands for one of the tenets of the Order. They are Fidelity, Constancy, Loyalty, Faith and Love.

Q. Is the Order of the Eastern Star a religion?

A. No. The Order of the Eastern Star is not a religion, even though we are religious in character. It does not pretend to take the place of a religion, or serve as a substitute for the religious beliefs of its members. Our members do come from all denominations.

Return to the"Trestle"